Gordon Fraser (1943-2013)

Editor of CERN Courier who made many valuable contributions to the laboratory

Paul Beynel (1944-2012)

Member of the Radiation Protection group who tested materials and components that were used in the construction of the SPS

William J Willis (1932-2012)

Physicist with wide-ranging interests who brought a new detector concept to CERN in the 1970s

Claude Dangoisse (1956-2012)

An operator of the Meyrin Control Room for almost 10 years, who later led the telephone-exchange infrastructure at CERN

Hannes Schwarzbauer (1950-2012)

Valued member of the Data Handling division who used his command of languages to help users with technical queries

Dieter Möhl (1936–2012)

Accelerator physicist who demonstrated by the Initial Cooling Experiment (ICE) that stochastic cooling was a viable proposition

Jean-Paul Diss (1928-2012)

Medical practitioner and gifted musician who set up and then ran the CERN medical service

Paul Bouchardy (1937 – 2012)

Respected and knowledgeable director of the Carlson Wagonlit travel agency at CERN for many years

André Petermann (1922 - 2011)

Early member of the CERN Theory Division who pioneered the renormalization group, paving the way for the modern theory of phase transitions


Subscribe to Obituaries