The Republic of Cyprus becomes CERN Associate Member State

The signing ceremony in Nicosia on 5 October 2012. CERN's former Director General is seen standing, with the Minister of Education and Culture of the Republic of Cyprus, George Demosthenous, to his left (Image: University of Cyprus)

On 1 April 2016, the Republic of Cyprus became an Associate Member State of CERN in pre-stage to Membership.

This follows notification that the Republic of Cyprus has ratified the agreement, signed in October 2012 by CERN’s then Director-General, Rolf Heuer, and the Minister of Education and Culture of the Republic of Cyprus, George Demosthenous, granting the status to the country.

“It is my great pleasure to welcome the Republic of Cyprus to the CERN family,” says Fabiola Gianotti, CERN’s Director General.

Scientists from the Republic of Cyprus have been involved in experiments at CERN from the L3 experiment at CERN’s Large Electron Positron (LEP) collider to the CMS collaboration – where they notably contributed to the development of the detector’s solenoid magnet and electromagnetic calorimeter.

“Cypriot physicists have made up a small but very active community at CERN for many years. This new status will enable the country to derive greater benefit from the opportunities offered by CERN, whether through participation in scientific programmes, through industrial development or through education and training," said Heuer at the signing of the agreement.

The Republic of Cyprus is also a member of the SESAME light source -- the first facility of its kind in the Middle East and the first intergovernmental research organization to be established in the region.

Associate Membership in the pre-stage to Membership allows the Republic of Cyprus to attend meetings of the CERN Council, Cypriot scientists to become members of CERN staff and Cypriot industry to bid for CERN contracts, thus opening up opportunities for industrial collaboration in areas of advanced technology.