Yves Goldschmidt-Clermont
Yves was being filmed for a documentary on track chambers and computing. (Image: CERN)

Au CERN, notre travail vise à mieux comprendre de quoi est fait l'Univers et comment il fonctionne. Pour cela, nous mettons à la disposition des scientifiques un complexe unique au monde d'accélérateurs de particules leur permettant de repousser les limites de la connaissance humaine.

À la fin de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, la science européenne n’était plus d’envergure internationale, mais une poignée de scientifiques visionnaires ont imaginé créer un laboratoire européen de physique atomique. Fondé en 1954, le CERN est situé de part et d’autre de la frontière franco-suisse, près de Genève.

Le CERN emploie environ 2500 personnes issues du monde entier et travaillant dans tous les domaines de l’Organisation, de la physique à l’informatique en passant par le management.

Le CERN compte 22 États membres, chacun représenté par deux délégués officiels au Conseil du CERN. Le Conseil du CERN est l'autorité suprême de l’Organisation. Il est responsable de toutes les décisions importantes. Le Conseil détermine la politique de l'Organisation dans les domaines scientifique, technique et administratif.

Yves Goldschmidt-Clermont
Yves was being filmed for a documentary on track chambers and computing. (Image: CERN)

At CERN, our work helps to uncover what the universe is made of and how it works. We do this by providing a unique range of particle accelerator facilities to researchers, to advance the boundaries of human knowledge.

At the end of the Second World War, European science was no longer world-class but a handful of visionary scientists imagined creating a European atomic physics laboratory. Founded in 1954, the CERN laboratory sits astride the Franco-Swiss border near Geneva.

CERN employs about 2500 people from nationalities all around the world, working in every area of the Organization, from physicists to computer scientists to chefs.

CERN is run by 22 Member States, each of which has two official delegates to the CERN Council. The CERN Council is the highest authority of the Organization and has responsibility for all-important decisions. It controls CERN’s activities in scientific, technical and administrative matters.