Voir en


Winners of the 2022 ATLAS Thesis Awards announced

Bulletin 08-09/2023
From left to right: ATLAS Thesis Awards Chair Antonella De Santo; Awards winners Bastian Schlag, Giulia Ripellino, Brian Moser, Daniel Camarero Munoz, Giuseppe Carratta, and Guglielmo Frattari; ATLAS Collaboration Board Chair Lucia Di Ciaccio; and ATLAS Spokesperson Andreas Hoecker. (Not pictured: winners Maria Mironova and Emily Anne Thompson) (Image: CERN)

The ATLAS collaboration celebrated some of its best and brightest PhD students at the recent Thesis Awards. Since 2010, these awards have recognised the outstanding contributions made to the ATLAS collaboration in the context of PhD theses.

The winners of the 2022 ATLAS Thesis Awards were announced at an awards ceremony held in CERN’s Main Auditorium on 16 February 2023. The recipients are Daniel Camarero Muñoz (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid), Giuseppe Carratta (Università di Bologna & INFN), Guglielmo Frattari (Sapienza Università di Roma & INFN), Maria Mironova (University of Oxford), Brian Moser (Universiteit van Amsterdam & NIKHEF), Giulia Ripellino (Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm), Bastian Schlag (Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz & CERN) and Emily Anne Thompson (Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg & DESY).

For the first time since 2020, ATLAS members were able to applaud the winners in person as they received their awards. All of these new graduates faced the extra challenge of a pandemic while undertaking their PhD. The scientific excellence of their results, despite countless COVID-related complications, is especially remarkable.

Explore the winning theses:

Read the full story on the ATLAS website.