LHCb honours its Thesis and Early Career Awards Winners

LHCb celebrated some of its youngest contributors at an unusual but lively virtual ceremony

LHCb collaboration celebrating its Thesis award winners
Left to right, top to bottom: Smith, Passaleva (LHCb Spokesperson), Hansmann-Menzemer (Thesis Chair), Conti, Lupton, Campora, Abellan-Beteta, Vom Bruch, Lemos Cid, Bertella, Dufour, Dordei (Early Career Chair), D'Argent (Image: CERN)

On 11 June, LHCb announced the winners of the 2020 PhD Thesis and Early Career Scientist Awards.

The LHCb Thesis Awards recognize excellent PhD theses and additional work that have made an exceptional contribution to LHCb. In parallel, the Early Career Scientist prizes are awarded to recognize outstanding achievements of early career scientists to the benefit of LHCb.

This year’s winners of the Thesis prize are Philippe D'Argent (Heidelberg University) and Laurent Dufour (Nikhef/Groningen University. Carlos Abellan Beteta (Zurich), Claudia Bertella (CERN), Daniel Campora (Nikhef), Nadim Conti (INFN, Milan), Edgar Lemos Cid (Santiago de Compostela), Olli Lupton (Warwick), Mark Smith (Imperial College), Dorothea vom Bruch (LPNHE, Paris) were awarded  the Early Career prize.

“The number of brilliant winners of the Early Career Scientist prize and the extraordinary level of the PhD theses evaluated, show how crucial the contribution of younger colleagues to the experiment activities truly is”, point out Francesca Dordei and Stephanie Hansmann-Menzemer, Chairs of the Prize Committees. “It was really hard for the Committees to select only a few names among the many early career scientists and PhD students that not only contribute but often lead cutting edge developments in LHCb physics, detector and software developments”. Almost 350 PhD students study in the collaboration on diverse areas of LHCb physics, ranging from physics analysis to advanced detector and software developments.


Find out more about LHCb prizes.