Voir en


FP6 launch provides showcase for European research organizations

Geneva, 6 November 2002. CERN1 is one of seven of Europe's leading international research organizations that have got together to produce an exhibition for the EU conference "European Research 2002 Ð The European Research Area and the Framework Programme" to be held at the Palais du Heysel in Brussels on 11-13 November.

This exhibition is an initiative of EIROforum2; the high-level co-ordination and collaboration group formed last year to bring together seven European International research organizations. Each of EIROforum's members has powerful research infrastructures and laboratories used by an extensive network of scientists. Together, they represent the European spearhead in some of the most crucial basic and applied research fields.

The Brussels conference will be attended by more than 8000 scientists and decision-makers from all over Europe. It serves to launch the 6th EU Framework Programme (2002 - 2006), which will have an important impact on Europe's R&D landscape over the coming years.

The exhibition features the individual EIROforum organisations, their current programmes and many front-line achievements in their respective areas of activity. It includes a central area displaying information about the organizations' current interaction through EIROforum. The stands, to be set up in Hall 11 of the Palais du Heysel, will be manned throughout the conference.

On Tuesday 12 November at 14:00, a Press Conference will be held at the exhibition stand, in the presence of the European Commissioner for Research, Phillippe Busquin, and most of the Directors General of the EIROforum organisations. The main themes will be the increasingly intense interaction and co-operation between the European Commission and EIROforum, as well as the role of EIROforum and its member organisations within the European Research Area. Moreover, the official signing of the EIROforum Charter by the Directors General on this occasion will signify the formal establishment of EIROforum.

The current EIROFORUM chairperson is Professor Fotis C. Kafatos (EMBL). The EIROforum website at contains useful information about this unique collaboration.

Media Contacts

Mrs Paola Catapano
Education and Technology Transfer
CH-1211Geneva 23
Tel.: +41-22-767-5456,
Fax.: +41-22-767-8710
E-Mail: paola.catapano@cern.ch
URL: http://www.cern.ch
Ms Dominique CornuŽjols
Head of Communications
BP 220
F-38043 Grenoble Cedex
Tel.: +33 4 76 88 20 25,
Fax.: +33 4 76 88 24 18
E-Mail: cornuejols@esrf.fr
URL: http://www.esrf.fr/
Dr. Franco Bonacina
ESA Head Office
8-10 Mario Nikis
F-75738 Paris Cedex 15
Tel.: +33 1 5369 7155,
Fax.: + 33 1 5369 7690
E-Mail: franco.bonacina@esa.int
URL: http://www.esa.int/
Mr Russ Hodge
Meyerhofstr. 1 D-69117 Heidelberg
Tel.: +49 6221 387252, Fax.: +49 6221 387525
E-Mail: hodge@sora.embl-heidelberg.de
URL: http://www.embl-heidelberg.de/
Mr Christopher Carpenter
(on behalf of JET)
UKAEA - Culham Division
D3 Culham Science Centre
Oxfordshire OX14 3DB
Tel.: +44 1235 464190,
Fax.: +44 1235 463706 E-Mail: chris.carpenter@ukaea.org.uk
URL: http://www.jet.efda.org/
Dr Albert Wright
6, rue Jules Horowitz
BP 156
F-38042 Grenoble Cedex 9
Tel.: +33 4 76 20 71 01
E-Mail: wright@ill.fr
URL: http://www.ill.fr/
Mr Federico R. Casci
Max-Planck-Institut fŸr Plasmaphysik
Boltzmannstr. 2
D-85748 Garching bei MŸnchen
Tel.: +49 89 3299 4237
Fax.: +49 89 3299 4197
E-Mail: cascif@ipp.mpg.de
URL: http://www.efda.org/
Dr Richard West
Karl-Schwarzschild-Str. 2
D-85748 Garching bei MŸnchen
Tel.: +49 89 32006 276
Fax.: +49 89 320 23 62
E-Mail: rwest@eso.org
1. CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, has its headquarters in Geneva. At present, its Member States are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Israel, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United States of America, Turkey, the European Commission and Unesco have observer status.
2. EIROform members are the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN), European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), European Space Agency (ESA), European Southern Observatory (ESO), European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF), Institut Laue-Langevin (ILL), European Fusion Development Agreement (EFDA).