Voir en


Britain at CERN

Geneva, 14 November 2000. From 14 to 17 November 30 British companies will exhibit leading edge technologies at CERN1. This is Britain's 18th exhibition at CERN since 1968. Out of the 30 companies, which attended the Britain at CERN exhibition in 1998, 25 have received an order or a contract relating to CERN during the last two years.

The exhibition was inaugurated on Tuesday by Sir David Wright, Chief Executive of British Trade International. He was accompanied by H.E. Mr Christopher Hulse CMG, OBE, Her Majesty's Ambassador to Switzerland, and Mr. David Roberts, Deputy Head of Mission and Director of Trade Promotion at the British Embassy in Bern. CERN Director-General, Professor Luciano Maiani, underlined the major contribution of British physicists to CERN, pointing out the fact that several of CERN's accelerators have been and still are constructed under the leadership of British engineers.

The main subjects of the exhibition are cryogenics and vacuum technologies, gas detection, power supplies, welding, precision-machined mechanical components, special metals, electronics, control and communication cables, and particle detectors. After the shutdown of the LEP accelerator, CERN is now focusing on the LHC, a new particle collider, which requires sophisticated technology and is scheduled to start running in 2005. The start of this new venture is a good opportunity for British companies to show that their hi-tech products comply with CERN's objectives and criteria, and bid for CERN tenders.

British physicists have always played an important role at CERN. UK was one of the founding members of the laboratory back in 1953. At present there are around 300 British physicists preparing the LHC. Dr. Lyn Evans leads the construction of this new accelerator. Another Briton at CERN - Tim Berners Lee - invented the World Wide Web in 1989. Britain is the third largest service provider for CERN after France and Switzerland. This exhibition shows that the country has a lot to offer on the scientific and technical side as well.

The industrial exhibition will be accompanied by seven lectures held on Wednesday 15 November:

  1. The Conform Continuous Extrusion Process by Mr. Ken Scott from Holton Conform
  2. Practical Implementation of VMF64x Cards by Mr. Peter Marshall from Hytec Electronics Ltd
  3. The Ergonomics of Sustained Microscope Use by Mr. Mark Curtis from Vision Engineering Ltd.
  4. A Systems Integrator's Perspective on IEC 61508 by Mr. Ken Simpson from Silvertech International Plc
  5. High Performance Analogue Fibre Optic Links for use in making Isolated Measurements by Mr. Richard Newell from Pulse Power & Measurement Ltd
  6. CERN Policy on Technology Transfer Seminar by Mr. Christopher Jones, Head of Technology Transfer Service Ð ETT Division
  7. CERN Technologies by Mr. Hans Hoffmann, Director of Scientific Computing and Technology Transfer


  1. A S Scientific Products Limited
  2. BICC General UK
  3. BOC Edwards
  4. D + J Fabrications (Atherton) Ltd
  5. Data Systems & Solutions (Advanced Controls)
  6. Data Systems & Solutions Ltd
  7. Davin Optronics Limited
  8. Goodfellow Cambridge Limited
  9. GTS Flexible Materials Ltd
  10. Hilger Crystals Ltd
  11. Holton Conform
  12. HVR International Limited
  13. Hytec Electronics Ltd
  14. Lancashire Fittings Ltd
  15. Kurt J Lesker
  16. Marconi Applied Technology
  17. McLennan Servo Supplies Ltd
  18. NIS Limited
  19. NNC Limited
  20. NTE Vacuum Technology Ltd
  21. Parker Hannifin plc
  22. Polaron CVT Ltd
  23. Pulse Power & Measurement Ltd
  24. Raydex/CDT
  25. Rolls-Royce Industrial Controls
  26. Silvertech Limited
  27. TMD Technologies
  28. Vacuum Generators
  29. Vision Engineering
  30. Wessington Cryogenics Limited


Westminster Tower
3, Albert Embankment
GB-London SE1 7SL

Contact: Mrs. J.Fillingham
tel: +44 20 7793 3024
fax: +44 20 7793 3054

Information: CERN:
Claire-Lyse Jullien-Woringer,
Division SPL, Tel. +41-22-767-3722


1.CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, has its headquarters in Geneva. At present, its Member States are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Israel, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United States of America, Turkey, the European Commission and Unesco have observer status.