Voir en


Britain at CERN

Geneva, 8 October 1996. On 8 October, H.E. Mr David Beattie, British Ambassador to Switzerland, Mr John R. Nichols, H.M. Consul-General in Geneva and, Prof. Christopher Llewellyn Smith, CERN*'s Director General, formally opened the industrial exhibition of thirty-three British hi-tech companies at CERN, which takes place from 8 to 11 October, 1996. The exhibition offers British companies the opportunity to display their products in fields that are of immediate importance to the scientists, engineers and technicians working at CERN, and also to scientists from non-Member States who take part in research projects at CERN. The range of products covers a wide area: cryogenics and vacuum technologies, electric power and power electronics, mechanical components, small and precision machined mechanical components, instrumentation, high power components, special metals, electronics, control cables. The exhibition is organised by BEAMA, the Federation of British Electrotechnical and Allied Manufacturers' Associations.

Mr David Beattie said that the exhibition will provide an opportunity to display British industrial products of importance to the scientists, technicians and engineers at CERN during this run-up period to the placing of contracts for the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) construction. The Director General stressed the full and significant role that British scientists and industry play at CERN. They are involved in all scientific programmes and have taken part in most the important discoveries at CERN. Britain scientists participate in 3 of the 4 Large Electron Positron Collider (LEP) experiments and in ATLAS and CMS, two detectors at CERN's future accelerator, the LHC. They also take part in high technology research and development projects, preparing for CERN's next accelerator, the LHC.

CERN is one of the most prestigious centres for fundamental research in the world where European countries have brought together their scientists to build unique machines, designed for research in elementary particle physics. CERN's complex technological needs act as a catalyst in stimulating industrial progress in Europe. CERN is in the process of preparing a new project of unparalleled importance, the LHC, a particle collider which will bring protons into collision to create the same energy conditions that existed only 10-12 of a second after the birth of our Universe in the Big Bang. CERN will develop the most sophisticated technology in order to construct LHC, for instance in the fields of superconductivity, cryogenics and electronics, offering European industry a new opportunity to display their potential. The "Britain at CERN" exhibition will allow British industry to demonstrate its ability to contribute to this extremely important project which will enable scientists from all over the world to make new discoveries in the fundamental structures and forces of matter.


  1. Aurora Forgings Ltd.
  2. BICC Cables Ltd/Europtics
  3. Bird Precision Bellows Ltd
  4. Brush Electrical Machines Ltd
  5. Caburn-MDC Ltd
  6. Centronic Ltd
  7. Cryogenic Ltd
  8. Edwards High Vacuum International
  9. EEV Ltd
  10. GEC Plessey Semiconductors
  11. Goodfellow Cambridge Ltd
  12. Gould Instrument Systems
  13. Hadland Photonics Ltd
  14. Hamlet Circuits
  15. Hiden Analytical Ltd
  16. Hilger Analytical Ltd
  17. Hivolt Capacitors Ltd
  18. Hunt Engineering
  19. Kurt J.Lesker Co Ltd
  20. Loughborough Sound Images plc
  21. Micron Semiconductor Ltd
  22. NNC Ltd
  23. NTE (Poole) Ltd
  24. Oxford Instruments (UK) Ltd
  25. Procord Ltd
  26. Quasar Microwave
  27. Serco Europe Ltd
  28. Special Metals Fabrication Ltd
  29. Stainless Metalcraft (Chatteris) Ltd
  30. Thorn Microwave Devices Ltd
  31. Transtech Parallel Systems
  32. Ultra Electronics
  33. Vacuum Generators Ltd

Westminster Tower
3, Albert Embankment
GB-London SE1 7SL
Tel.: +44-171-793-3025
Fax: +44-171-793-3054
Contact : Ms. J. Fillingham

Information : L. Abel, FI-A Division, tel. +41 22 767 9561

1. CERN, the European Laboratory for Particle Physics, has its headquarters in Geneva. At present, its Member States are Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Israel, Japan, the Russian Federation, Turkey, the European Commission and Unesco have observer status.