Voir en


Gilles Jobin to deliver final lecture of his artistic residency at CERN

Geneva, 30 October 2012. On 6 November at 18:00, Gilles Jobin1, first winner of the Collide @ CERN Geneva prize2, will be talking about his Collide @ CERN residency and performing extracts of movements generated during his time at the laboratory. The Collide @ CERN Geneva prize celebrates the unique relationship between CERN3 and the City and Canton of Geneva. Jobin’s lecture will take place in the Globe of Science and Innovation.

“One thing I’ve learned from Gilles’s residency is that a choreographer sees concepts such as time, space and gravity differently to a physicist,” said CERN Director General, Rolf Heuer. “It’s been fascinating to see how he has incorporated a physicist’s world-view into his work, and I’m looking forward to some surprises next week.”

In this residency I have searched to learn and learned to search. Dance and science are connected in many unexpected ways. Just as in theoretical physics, we could only predict part of the reality”, said Gilles Jobin.

The lecture marks the end of Jobin’s three month residency at CERN and will be opened by Professor Heuer along with André Waldis, Cultural Advisor of the City of Geneva, and Charles Beer, Vice president of the State Council of Geneva in charge of the Department of Education, Culture and Sport. The event begins at 18:00, with doors opening at 17:30. Due to limited space, attendance is by RSVP only.

“Among the highlights of Gilles’s residency were his audacious interventions in unexpected places in the laboratory which left a lasting impression on all who encountered them, including moving some scientists to tears,” said Ariane Koek, CERN’s Cultural Specialist. “There will be a discussion about the interventions at the lecture marking the end of the residency, as well as a presentation by Gilles and a short demonstration by his company of choreography developed thanks to the inspiration of particle physics.”

The next competition for Collide @ CERN Geneva will be announced shortly, this time in a different artistic discipline.



CERN Press Office:

+41 (0) 22 767 34 32
+41 (0) 22 767 21 41

For RSVPs to attend the presentation on 6 November:

Further information:

1. With an international reputation, Swiss dancer and choreographer Giles Jobin’s early works A + B=X (1997) and The Moebius Strip (2000) were hailed as contemporary dance masterpieces. Apart from his own productions, which include the recently acclaimed Spider Galaxies, Gilles Jobin has made his company and Studio 44 a pioneering place, offering professional training for dancers and stimulating international exchange by means of various initiatives.
2. The Collide @ CERN Geneva award is the Geneva strand of the Collide @ CERN programme initiated by CERN in 2011. It is a cultural partnership between CERN and the City and Canton of Geneva. The residency is based at CERN for three months and is fully funded thanks to support by the City and Canton of Geneva. Collide @ CERN is an important strand of CERN’s policy for engagement with the arts, Great Arts for Great Science. It is an international competition that will run for a period of three years.
2bis. Each year, artists working in different art forms will have the opportunity to take up a funded residency of up to three months. The programme is made possible thanks to generous funding, to date from: Ars Electronica for the Digital Arts Prize (prize money); private individual donors (for the creative process grant/residency); and from the City and Canton of Geneva for dance and performance (respectively for the prize money and creative process grant/residency). UNIQA Assurances SA Switzerland is the exclusive sponsor of all artists’ insurances for the Collide @ CERN programme.
3. CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, is the world's leading laboratory for particle physics. It has its headquarters in Geneva. At present, its member states are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Romania is a candidate for accession. Israel and Serbia are associate members in the pre-stage to membership. India, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United States of America, Turkey, the European Commission and UNESCO have observer status.