Voir en


Poland at CERN from 28 November to 1 December

Geneva, 28 November 1995. On 28 November 1995 the first Polish industrial and technological exhibition opened at CERN1. In his inaugural speech Prof Aleksander Luczak, the Polish Deputy Prime Minister, announced : "The first Polish exhibition which I am opening today indicates a new stage of our presence at CERN. It provides an opportunity for CERN to get better acquainted with our industrial potential and, on the other hand, provides an opportunity for our exhibitors to learn more about CERN and the extraordinary people who work here. It is a unique possibility for the highly qualified experts on both sides to get together and exchange views on recent technical and technological solutions." CERN's Director General Prof. Chris Llewellyn Smith drew attention to the excellent scientific contribution which Polish physicists have made to CERN. He also mentioned that the admission of Poland in July 1991 as the first Central European State to become a full member of CERN, marked an important political breakthrough.

The exhibition, which takes place from 28 November to 1 December 1995, offers Polish companies the opportunity to establish professional contacts with CERN. Twenty-four high-tech companies present their products in fields that are of immediate importance to the scientists, engineers and technicians working at CERN. The technologies represented at the exhibition are: cryogenics and vacuum technologies, electric power and power electronics, heavy mechanical components, small and precision-machined mechanical components, electrical and mechanical instrumentation, electronics and software, power-control and fibre optic cables. In parallel with the exhibition a series of technical and product seminars is being held. To close the exhibition, Polish Delegates of the CERN Council have organised a recital of Polish piano music played by Konstancja Kawalla, who will interpret works by Chopin and two contemporary composers, Grazyna Bacewicz and Witold Lutoslawski.

CERN is one of the most prestigious centres for fundamental research in particle physics bringing together scientists from all over the world. CERN Council's decision on 16 December 1994 to build the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) is a milestone in the history of the Organisation. Construction of the LHC and its detectors is a major technological challenge, demanding the development of new technologies and pushing existing technology to the utmost limits. CERN, in particular the LHC project, will be an important driving force for innovation in European industry and the large number of firms exhibiting at "Poland at CERN", illustrates Polish industry's ambition to play a full part in CERN's present and future scientific projects.


  • 1. Baildon Steelworks
  • 2. CHEMAR, Chemical Equipment and Industrial Fittings Works
  • 3. Detron Ltd
  • 4. Elektrim Plc
  • 5. Eurogaz Ltd
  • 6. The H. Niewodniczanski Institute of Nuclear Physics
  • 7. Institute of Electron Technology
  • 8. Institute of Electronic Materials Technology
  • 9. Institute of Metal Cutting
  • 10. Institute of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology
  • 11. Institute of Vacuum Technology
  • 12. Korpalski Ltd
  • 13. Kriosystem Ltd
  • 14. Metalchem Koscian SA
  • 15. Polon Trade Office
  • 16. PZL Hydral SA
  • 17. Rafako SA, Boiler Engineering
  • 18. Soltan Institute for Nuclear Studies
  • 19. Technokabel SA
  • 20. The Tele & Radio Research Institute
  • 21. Tepro Inc, Vacuum Technical Engineering
  • 22. To&From Poland
  • 23. Turbotech Ltd, Design and Manufacturing
  • 24. Unipress, High Pressure Research

Exhibition organizer:

Techtra Inc.
ul. Dlugopolska 20
PL - 50-560 WROCLAW
Mr Maciej Chorowski
Industrial Liaison Officer
Tel. & fax : (+48 71) 62 79 00

Information : M. Diraison /FI-A/ Tel. CERN 022/ 767 4585

1. CERN, the European Laboratory for Particle Physics, has its headquarters in Geneva. At present, its Member States are Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Israel, Japan, the Russian Federation, Turkey, Yugoslavia (status suspended after UN embargo, June 1992), the European Commission and Unesco have observer status.