Voir en


Professor Luciano Maiani is new President of CERN Council

Luciano Maiani

Prof. Luciano Maiani (IT), next President of Council.


Geneva, 26 September 1996. The delegates of the CERN1 Council, the body which decides on the scientific programme and financial resources of the Organisation, elected Prof. Luciano Maiani (IT) as the next President of Council.


Prof. Maiani was elected for a period of one year and will take office as from 1 January 1997, replacing Prof. Hubert Curien (FR) who will have completed his 3 year mandate.

Prof. Maiani is a distinguished theoretical physicist. Gaining his first qualifications in Rome, he subsequently worked at the Universities of Florence and Harvard. He was made professor of Theoretical Physics at the University of Rome, "La Sapienza" in 1984 and since 1993 has been the President of the Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare (INFN).

Prof. Maiani has an excellent knowledge of CERN as a laboratory, and also of its governing bodies. He spent two periods of one year as a visiting Professor in the CERN Theory Division and has been a member of the Scientific Policy Committee and the Large Hadron Collider Committee. Since 1993 he has been Italy's delegate at the CERN Council. Please see below for a full curriculum vitae.

Curriculum vitae of Luciano MAIANI

Born in Rome 16 July 1941

  • 1964 Degree in physics
  • 1964 Research associate, Istituto Superior di Sanità
  • 1964 Cooperation with Prof. R. Gatto's group, in the field of Theoretical Physics, University of Florence
  • 1969 Post-Doctoral fellow, Lyman Laboratory of Physics, Harvard University
  • 1976 Professor of Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of Rome
  • 1977 Visiting Professor, Ecole Normale Supérieure of Paris
  • 1979-1980 Visiting Professor, CERN, Geneva
  • 1984 Professor of Theoretical Physics, University of Rome "La Sapienza"
  • 1985-1986 Visiting Professor, CERN, Geneva
  • 1988 Member of the "Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Rome, Italy
  • 1991 Fellow at the American Physical Society
  • 1993 President of Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare


  • 1987 Prize "J. Sakurai" of the American Physical Society

Formerly a member of 

  • 1970-1975 Representative of the Ministry of Health, Technical Committee of CNEN (Comitato Nazionale Energia Nucleare)
  • 1979-1983 The Supersynchrotron Committee, CERN, Geneva
  • 1984-1991 The Scientific Policy Committee, at CERN
  • 1988-1992 Representative of the Ministry for University and Scientific Research in the Committee for CNR Physics
  • 1990 Extended Research Council, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron, DESY, Hamburg
  • 1992-1993 President of the Frascati National Laboratory Scientific Committee
  • 1992-1993 Large Hadron Collider Committee, CERN, Geneva
  • 1993 Member of Council, CERN, Geneva

1. CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, is the world's leading laboratory for particle physics. It has its headquarters in Geneva. At present, its Member States are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Romania is a candidate for accession. Israel is an Associate Member in the pre-stage to Membership. India, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United States of America, Turkey, the European Commission and UNESCO have Observer status.