Winners honoured at tenth ATLAS Thesis Awards

On 14 February, the ATLAS Collaboration celebrated some of its most junior members at a ceremony in CERN’s Main Auditorium


ATLAS Thesis Awards, February 2019
Winners of the 2018 ATLAS Thesis Awards. From left to right: ATLAS Spokesperson, Karl Jakobs; Thesis Award winners Andrew Stuart Bell, Nicolas Köhler, Nedaa Alexandra Asbah and Anne-Luise Poley; Chair of the 2018 ATLAS Thesis Awards Committee, Claudia Gla (Image: Emma Ward/CERN)

The ATLAS Thesis Awards highlight outstanding contributions made to the collaboration in the context of a PhD thesis. “These awards represent an excellent opportunity to recognise the work of our talented PhD students and showcase how their contributions are crucial to the success of ATLAS,” said Claudia Glasman, Chair of the 2018 ATLAS Thesis Awards Committee. ATLAS PhD students contribute strongly and critically to all areas of the experiment, while learning valuable skills for their degrees. “The committee received 34 nominations this year, encompassing the diverse range of research areas studied at ATLAS.”

After a comprehensive review of each nominee, the committee selected six new winners: Nedaa Alexandra Asbah (DESY Hamburg), Andrew Stuart Bell (University of London), Rafal Bielski (University of Manchester), Nicolas Köhler (MPI München), Stefano Manzoni (University of Milan & INFN; University Pierre et Marie Curie & LPNHE-Paris), and Anne-Luise Poley (DESY Zeuthen).

During the award ceremony, each student was given a certificate, a glass model of the ATLAS detector, and personal congratulations from ATLAS spokesperson Karl Jakobs, ATLAS Collaboration Board Chair Max Klein, and Claudia Glasman.

The winners each gave presentations about their thesis work in front of members of the ATLAS collaboration. On the subject of physics, their talks varied wildly: from the discovery of new Higgs channels and studies of top-quark production, to novel searches for dark energy and supersymmetry, and technological advances of the new ITk strip detectors developed for the High-Luminosity phase of the LHC.

The winning theses are:

Read the original story on the ATLAS website.