Voir en


Arts@CERN announces three winning artists and launches an open call

Geneva, 30 April 2015. Arts @ CERN, CERN1's official engagement with the arts, is today announcing three winning art projects from the different strands, Accelerate @ CERN and Collide @ CERN, as well as launching the international open call for Collide @ CERN in digital arts. Now in its fifth year, Arts @ CERN has welcomed more than 70 artists to the Laboratory.

 “In pursuit of its cultural policy, Arts @ CERN continues to bring ‘Great Arts for Great Science’, giving artists the opportunity to discover the universe of high-energy physics at CERN,” said CERN Director-General Rolf Heuer.

Accelerate @ CERN is a one month research stay at CERN, organized in collaboration this year with Taiwan and Austria. The jury2 of Accelerate @ CERN Taiwan, funded by the Ministry of Culture for Taiwan, made the award to a joint project from dancer Wenchi Su and digital artist Pei-Ying Lin, for their unique combination of dance and physics principles, where language and spatial interaction would be used in extraordinary ways. “CERN is the dream place I always wanted to go to, except I never expected to be there as an artist rather than a physicist,” says Pei-Ying Lin.

The jury3 of Accelerate @ CERN Austria, funded by the Austrian Federal Chancellery, selected architects Sandra Manninger and Matias Del Campo, for their focus on the notion of geometry. “Scientific insights have always been part of what influenced us as architects and designers, not only in terms of a technological aid, but as a cultural agent and catalyst for new spatial solutions,” said the two winners.

The winner of the Collide @ CERN Pro Helvetia4 artist residency programme is the collective Fragment.in, formed by Laura Perrenoud, Simon de Diesbach, and Marc Dubois. Their art deals with two realities: tangible and virtual reality. “In their proposal, Fragment.in has a unique, original and creative approach to data visualization. We look forward to having them at CERN,” said Monica Bello, Head of Arts @ CERN. Collide @ CERN is the three month residency programme providing artists with time and space to reflect, research and renew their artistic practice.

Following on from three highly successful years of partnership with Ars Electronica, Arts @ CERN launches today the open call for Collide @ CERN Ars Electronica, the award in which artists from any country are invited to apply for a residency at CERN. This call is open for digital artists, innovative concepts and ideas in the field of art, science and technology. The residency will be part of the "European Digital Art and Science Network" initiated by Ars Electronica with the support of the Creative Europe Programme of the EU.

Online submissions open 30 April 2015 and close 23 June 2015: http://www.aec.at/artandscience/open-call/


Further information:

Accelerate @ CERN Taiwan is funded by the Ministry of Culture for Taiwan.

Accelerate @ CERN Austria is funded by the Austrian Federal Chancellery.

Collide @ CERN Pro Helvetia is funded by the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia, within the programme Mobile. In Touch with Digital Creation.

Arts@CERN website
Collide@CERN Facebook site
Twitter ArtsAtCern

Media contact:
Arts @ CERN
Monica Bello, Head of Arts @ CERN
+41 22 766 36 63

Taiwan Ministry of Culture

Pei-Jung Lee, pjlee@moc.gov.tw
+886 2 8512 6291

Centre Culturel de Taïwan à Paris
Huang Shih-yin, shihyin1221@gmail.com
+33 1 44 39 88 65

Federal Chancellery of Austria, Department II/1
Gerhard Jagersberger,
+43 1 531 15-206813

Pro Helvetia, Michel Vust
+41 44 267 71 28

Ars Electronica, Veronika Liebl
+43 732 7272 74

1. CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, is the world's leading laboratory for particle physics. It has its headquarters in Geneva. At present, its Member States are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Romania is a Candidate for Accession. Serbia is an Associate Member in the pre-stage to Membership. India, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United States of America, Turkey, the European Commission and UNESCO have Observer Status.
2. The jury for Accelerate @ CERN Taiwan was Monica Bello, Head of Arts @ CERN; Michael Doser, CERN Senior Physicist; Victoria Wang, Artistic & Executive Director at the National Taichung; and Professor Lin Pey Chwen , Department of Multimedia and Animation Arts, National Taiwan University of Arts.
3. The jury for Accelerate @ CERN Austria was John Ellis, Professor at Kings College London and visiting professor at CERN; Ariane Koek, Founder of Arts @ CERN; Frank Ludin, LAAC Architekten; Kathrin Aste, LAAC Architekten; Marie-Therese Harnoncourt, the next ENTERprise – architects.
4. The jury for Collide @ CERN Pro Helvetia was Monica Bello, Head of Arts @ CERN; Sabine Himmelsbach, Director of House of Electronic Arts Basel; Patrick Gyger, Director of Lieu Unique Nantes; Marc Bodmer, Master in Law, journalist and new media expert; Joao Pequenao, CERN MediaLab.